Deanna Yerichuk has dedicated her academic and music career to community-engaged social change. Through her Ph.D. in Music Education (University of Toronto), she investigated the emergence of Canada’s community music schools in the early twentieth century, and is currently working on a monograph. Dr. Yerichuk has begun investigating contemporary issues of inclusion and justice in cross-cultural collaborations through music, leading a pilot project on music and racial justice in high schools funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Canada. She has earned several awards, including the SOCAN Foundation Award for Writings on Canadian Music, and the Dr. Franklin Churchley Graduate Essay Competition Prize. As an Assistant Professor, Dr. Yerichuk coordinates the Community Music program at Wilfrid Laurier University in Canada, and teaches courses in community music and singing foundations.

Awards & Honours

2019 | Ontario Undergraduate Alliance
Award for Teaching Excellence

2011, 2012, 2013 
Ontario Graduate Scholarship 

2012 | SOCAN Foundation
Canadian University Music Society Award for Writings on Canadian Music​

2010 | Canadian Music Educators’ Association
Dr. Franklin Churchley Graduate Essay Competition, First Prize 

2012, 2011, 2009 | University of Toronto
Helen and Kenneth Bray Scholarship in Music Education 

1998 | University of Alberta 
Sheila Watson Prize for Canadian Post-Colonial Literature 

1994 | Grant MacEwan University
Edmonton Fund for Organized Recreational Talents Award 


2015 | PhD, Music Education
Faculty of Music, University of Toronto
Thesis: Discursive formations of community music and the production of 
Canadian citizens in Toronto’s settlement movement, 1910s-1930s

2008 | M.Ed. Adult Education
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto
Research Areas: Transformative Learning and Popular Education

1998 | Bachelor of Arts with Distinction, English major
University of Alberta
Specialized in literary theory and postcolonial studies

1995 | Diploma, Theatre Arts
Grant MacEwan University (Alberta)